Berry Scones


Ingredients:

  • 1 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/2 cup arrowroot flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 1/2 cup blueberry jelly (I prefer sugar free)
  • 1 teaspoon orange peel
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Procedure:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Mix dry ingredients together.
  3. Cut shortening into dry ingredients with a knife until dough forms a crumb like texture.
  4. Add remaining ingredients and stir until just mixed.
  5. Shape dough into 2″ balls, place on cookie sheet and flatten balls slightly with a spatula.
  6. Bake for 12  to 15 minutes or until scones turn golden brown.

Yield: Makes approximately 6 scones.

3 thoughts on “Berry Scones

  1. Hi Jill! My family and I tried these scones this afternoon. Deeee-licious! Thanks for sharing your website with me in Colorado. 🙂

    • Hey Pam,
      Glad you liked them! How was the rest of your trip in Boulder? I’ve been loving the level 2 yoga DVD I bought at the Shambhala center. Hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!

Leave a comment